Final Act of the Agreement between the Government of Australia and the Governments of Argentina, Chile, the French Republic, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, the Union of South Africa, the Union of the Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America concerning the Peaceful Uses of Antarctica.

Australian Treaty Series Number[1961] ATS 12
Done at Place and Date Washington, 12/01/1959
Short TitleAntarctic Treaty
Treaty Status (General) In Force
Treaty Status (Australia) In Force
Agreement Type Multilateral
Status List Site
Australian Signature for Multilaterals at Place and DateWashington, 12/01/1959
Australian Implemention RequirementsAntarctic Treaty (Environmental Protection) Act 1980 (No 103 of 1980)
Entry into Force Generally, Date and Conditions06/23/1961
Entry into Force for Australia, Date and Conditions
Treaty Acceptance
1. Action and Date Ratification, 06/23/1961
1. Done at and Date
2. Action and Date
Treaty Withdrawal
1. Action and Date
2. Action and Date
Registered with UN
Other Series Numbers and Reference to TextAct 1960/48; UNTS 402 p71; UKTS 1961/97, CTS 1988/34; NZTS 1961/12; TIAS 4780
Amendments to Treaty and Notessee Protocol of 4 Oct 1991
Last Updated05/01/2008